Skip to page content Search


The 20 District Health Boards and the New Zealand employee Unions acknowledge the need to work cooperatively to achieve high quality healthcare and workforce advancement. These Partnership groups address this commitment for the group(s) they represent.

On this page you’ll find detailed information about each of these partnerships.

Skip to...


Association of Professionals and Executive Employees (APEX)  - Medical Radiation Technologists Action Committee (MRTAC)

The District Health Boards and the Union (APEX) have acknowledged a need to work cooperatively to achieve the overarching goal of maintaining and advancing a Medical Radiation Technologists workforce, which provides high quality healthcare on a sustainable basis to the New Zealand population.

The implementation of this agreement may lead to the development of proposals/ projects for the improvement of workforce practices and planning involving Medical Radiation Technology staff, and a bi-partite committee has been established for this purpose.

Download the MRTAC Agreement

Council of Trade Unions (CTU) - Health Sector Relationship Agreement (HSRA) 

The DHBs, CTU (and affiliated health sector unions - ASMS, NZNO, PSA and SFWU) along with the Ministry of Health have acknowledged a number of common goals and interests:

  1. a goal of improving health outcomes for the New Zealand population, and in reducing health inequalities 
  2. a shared commitment to delivering a productive, sustainable, responsive, high-performing affordable public health and disability service, in line with the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000 and the range of health and disability strategies
  3. a mutual interest in the provision of good jobs and working environments for all who work in the health and disability sectors
  4. respect for each others’ different roles and the respective responsibilities that go with those roles, and;
  5. a mutual interest in meeting the objectives of the Employment Relations Act 2000 (ERA) through the promotion of collective bargaining and union representation.

In support of this the parties entered into a formal agreement outlining how they intend to work together to further these goals, including a number of priority projects.

Download the Health Sector Relationship Agreement

CTU - Pay and Employment Equity Reviews (PAEE) In The Public Health Sector

The national Report and Response Plan arises from Pay and Employment Equity (PaEE) Reviews conducted in five District Health Boards (DHBs) during the first half of 2007, and verification of the findings from those five DHBs by the remaining 16 DHBs in the second half of that year.

The Terms of Reference for the Public Health Sector Pay and Employment Equity Review are contained in the report.

The Review was overseen by a Bipartite Working Group.

PHS PaEE Report 05-2008 

Residential Doctors' Association (RDA) – National RMO Engagement Group (NREG)

The National Resident Doctors Engagement Group (NREG) has been established by the 20 DHBs and NZRDA to further cement and support the parties’ relationship. The NREG has been established by the parties to provide a coordinating and oversight role for national co-operative activity, including support of Local Resident Doctor Engagement Groups (LREGs).


The purpose of the NREG is to have oversight of the developing relationship between the 20 DHBs and NZRDA including:

  • Supporting local engagement structures
  • Engaging constructively around change management processes
  • Providing for dispute and problem resolution
  • Acting as a forum to enable external stakeholders to engage with both parties collectively

Download the Terms of Reference 

RMO Costs of Training List

The NREG developed a national indicative RMO training list and has a process to ensure the list is maintained as a ‘living document’, including a process for resolving disagreements around inclusion or exclusion of specific items. It has been agreed the list will be maintained and published on the RDA Website Training page.

NZNO - Joint Action Committee (JAC)

NZNO and DHBs recognise the value of working more cooperatively and constructively to achieve the over-arching goal of maintaining and advancing a nursing and midwifery workforce that takes shared responsibility for providing high quality healthcare on a sustainable basis.  This commitment is outlined in the Partnership Agreement that is included in the NZNO MECA.

The undertaking of activities required by the Partnership Agreement shall be overseen by a committee of 8 members, known as the Joint Action Committee (JAC).  The committee will consist of 4 members representing NZNO and its membership and 4 representing the DHBs.

JAC will action an agreed work programme in conjunction with the 21 DHBs. 

Partnership Agreement

NZNO - Job Evaluation Review Committee (JERC)

The Job Evaluation Review Committee (JERC) is a joint DHB and NZNO job scoping process that allocates a job size and grade for all designated senior nurse and midwifery positions. The Committee consist of 4 NZNO and 4 DHB representatives.

 The key objectives of JERC are:

  • To provide a nationally consistent approach to job sizing.
  • To scope new positions and to review previously scoped positions against a nationally consistent framework as specified by the original Job Scoping Working Party.
  • Only senior designated positions are forwarded for scoping with the process of determining what a senior designated position resting solely with DHBs.

Download the JERC Memorandum