Home / About us / Our Board

Our Board

Established in 2013, the Board is responsible for overseeing our activities and guiding the ongoing development of our organisation.  The Board reports to the Regional Governance Group, which is made up of representatives of the six Central Region District Health Boards.

Our Board members are:

Dr Jan White - Chair

Jan White A medical doctor by training, Jan has worked in medical and general management for over 20 years in both Australia and New Zealand. She has held a number of senior health sector posts including six years as Chief Executive of the Waikato District Health Board and seven years as Chief Executive of the Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC). She is also on the Boards of PHARMAC and Worksafe New Zealand.


 Murray Bain

Murray Bain Murray is an experienced company director who is currently Chair of the Open Polytechnic, Chair of Top Energy, Deputy Chair of TSB Bank and a Director of TSB Capital. In the past he has held CEO roles in the Foundation for Research Science and Technology and the Ministry of Science and Innovation and, prior to that, senior management positions in IT, finance and banking in the Trust Bank Group and roles as Chief Operating Officer at ACC and Assistant Governor in the Reserve Bank of New Zealand.


Deryck Shaw

Derek Shaw

Deryck is Chair of Lakes District Health Board and Deputy Chair of New Zealand Māori Arts and Crafts Institute. He is a former member of the Waikato District Health Board, Chair of Waiariki Institute of Technology and Board Member of Institutes of Technology Polytechnics New Zealand. He is a Chartered Member of the NZ Institute of Directors and has a 30-year career as the Director of the strategic planning consultancy firm, APR Consultants Ltd.


Kathryn Cook

 Kathryn Cook

Kathryn is the Chief Executive of MidCentral District Health Board.  Prior to joining MDHB, she was a Partner within KPMG Australia’s Health, Ageing and Human Services practice, where she was lead partner of the Victorian practice.  Previously Kathryn was CEO of Western Health, Victoria and has also held a range of policy and leadership positions in the Western Australian and Victorian Departments of Health, and the New Zealand Ministry of Health.


Wendy McPhail

Wendy McPhail Wendy has over 20 years senior management experience most recently as CEO for the New Zealand- owned Office Products Depot Co-operative. She has extensive technology, strategy and change management expertise. Wendy was the former Deputy Chair of the Auckland Museum Trust Board and holds community and private governance roles.