Skip to page content Search
Home / About us / Board


TAS has an independent Board of Directors that was established in 2013 and is responsible for overseeing our activities and guiding the ongoing development of our organisation.

The Board reports to the Regional Governance Group, which is made up of representatives of the six Central Region District Health Boards.


Murray Bain - Chair

Murray Bain - Board Chair

Murray is an experienced company director who is currently Deputy Chair of TSB Bank and a director of NorthTec, the Ara Institute of Technology and the Southland Institute of Technology. In the past, Murray has held Chief Executive roles in the Foundation for Research Science and Technology and the Ministry of Science and Innovation. Prior to that, he held senior management positions in IT, finance and banking in the Trust Bank Group, and roles as Chief Operating Officer at the Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC) and Assistant Governor at the Reserve Bank of New Zealand.

Wendy McPhail

 Photo of Board member Wendy McPhail

Wendy has over 20 years senior management experience, most recently as Chief Executive for the New Zealand owned Office Products Depot Co-operative. She has extensive technology, strategy and change management expertise. Wendy was the former Deputy Chair of the Auckland Museum Trust Board and holds community and private governance roles.


Sir Paul Collins

Photo of Board member Sir Paul Collins

Sir Paul is currently the chairman of the Wairarapa District Health Board and private investment company, Active Equity Holdings Limited, and a director of the Hurricanes Limited, Ecopoint Limited and Shott Beverages Limited. He has served on the Board of more than 50 listed companies in New Zealand, Australia, Hong Kong and London. He was the chairman of Sport New Zealand and High Performance Sport New Zealand Limited from 2009 to 2018 and of the Wellington Regional Stadium Trust from 2000 to 2012. He was a governor of the New Zealand Sports Foundation, a director of Rugby New Zealand 2011 Limited and Wellington Rugby. He was a member of the Rugby 2011 World Cup Bid Committee, which won the hosting rights for the 2011 World Cup, and an adviser to ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Sir Paul is an Associate Chartered Accountant and holds a Bachelor's Degree in Commerce and Administration from Victoria University.


Catherine Law

Photo of Board member Catherine Waugh

Catherine is a Partner in Deloitte’s Risk Advisory team and has over 25 years practitioner and advisory experience in the financial services, retail and government sectors both in New Zealand and in the United Kingdom. Catherine’s experience includes providing risk management advice, information security and technology advisory services for organisations in the public and financial services sectors. 


Jenny Black 


Jenny has had a career in health, starting as a clinical dietitian, moving into public health before changing to governance. First elected to the Nelson Marlborough DHB in 2007, she has chaired that board since 2010. For the last six years she has chaired the national Chairs group which has provided her with a broad view of the NZ health system. Jenny is a strong advocate for a joined up system, that is, what can be done regionally or nationally should be if it brings about better care, financial sustainability and better public health outcomes.  


Jo Hayes 

  E koro ma e kui ma e rau rangatira, tena koutou
Ko Ngati Porou, Atihau nui a Paparangi, Rangitane o Wairarapa me Ngati Kahungunu ki Wairarapa oku Iwi.

I am pleased to be appointed to the TAS Board. I bring a background in health management, planning, funding, and auditing for both Māori and mainstream organisations. My first health audit was with TAS in 2001. While my time with the TAS Board may be a brief one, what I would like to achieve is to support TAS in growing its responses to Hauora Māori as we move towards the new health reforms.

Last updated: 22/3/22